Skip to main content

Montgomery County Minimum Wage and Overtime Laws

Signed into legislation on Nov. 17, 2017, Bill 28-17 raises the minimum wage incrementally, each July 1, until it reaches $15 per hour in 2022.

Minimum wage increases through July of 2022 (based upon the size of a business) can be found by clicking the first link below, left hand highlighted column by business size. Employees age 18 and under, who work fewer than 20 hours per week, are exempt from this rate. Please note: increases take effect in July of each year.

Please check both links below for additional information.

Enforcement of the law is handled through the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation.

Contact information for inquiries on Wage and Hour Enforcement is as follows:

Employment Standards Service
1100 North Eutaw Street, Room 607
Baltimore, Maryland 21201
Tel. 410.767.2357 Fax 410.333.7303
Email ess@dllr.state.md.us

Find more information from the following link(s):
To speak with a Customer Service Representative, please call 311 during business hours.

Last Updated: 06/29/2020 09:27:28