Skip to main content

Maryland's New Smoke Alarm Law

Updates to Maryland's existing Smoke Alarm Law were signed into law in 2013 with a phased-in implementation period and full compliance of the law by January 1, 2018. The new law primarily targets BATTERY-ONLY smoke alarms (typically found in older homes built before 1975) and requires the replacement of all BATTERY-ONLY smoke alarms with new smoke alarms that are powered by sealed-in, 10-year long-life batteries. Smoke alarm requirements are based on when a house was constructed and the specific statutory and code requirements in place at that time. It is therefore critical that a homeowner know the date of construction to determine smoke alarm requirements. This information can be found on our website. IMPORTANT: If the home's Code requirements stipulate that hard-wired smoke alarms are required by law, it is NEVER acceptable to replace hard-wired smoke alarms with any type of battery-only smoke alarm. Smoke alarms have a service life of 10 years and then need to be replaced. To determine the age of the smoke alarm, check the manufacture date printed on the alarm. If the alarm fails to operate or it is over 10 years, it is time to replace the alarm. Important to reemphasize: It is NEVER acceptable to replace any type of hard-wired smoke alarm with any type of battery-only device. For detailed information regarding Maryland's Smoke Alarm law, please click on the link below. All hard-wired units are required to have a battery back-up to provide smoke alarm coverage in the event of a power outage. The back-up battery in a hard-wired smoke alarm can be any type of battery (it is NOT required to be a 10-year long life battery). Smoke alarms are required on every level of a home and based on the date of construction, additional requirements may be in place. This is a state-wide, Maryland law.
Find more information from the following link(s):
To speak with a Customer Service Representative, please call 311 during business hours.

Last Updated: 02/04/2020 08:11:43