MC311 Logo
Call 311 To Get It Done!
For Emergency: 911 | Out of County: 240-777-0311


Enter an English language keyword to search the 311 web site:
  Results will be returned in English language

All Services

Definition of Special Area Taxes
Special Area taxes are composed of ten lesser taxes, known as: Fire District Tax; Transit Tax; Advanced Land Acquisition Tax; Metropolitan Tax; Regional Tax; Recreational Tax; Storm Drainage Tax; Parking Lot Tax; Urban District Tax; Noise Abatement Tax.

To view the affects Special Area taxes on an individual tax bill, please note the "CLASS" on the tax bill. (ex. RO38 translates to class 38). Then go to the Real Property Tax Rate, find the appropriate tax class, and read across the tax class to determine which taxes are being paid and the tax rates associated with those taxes. Tax rates are set by the County Council each year. Please click the link below for further information.

Find more information from the following link(s):
  • Special Area Taxes
  • Levy Year 2013 Schedules

  • To speak with a Customer Service Representative, please call 311 during business hours.